The Life Antarctic with Phil Baur

So I made a movie for a film festival at my old college.

This year was the last year I was eligible and I thought, “What the heck.  I’ll make an Antarctica Documentary.”  So, 4 days before the deadline, I commissioned my pal Ryan to write me a script.  He pulled though and sent me a script.  I switched my day off and basically shot and edited this thing in 36 hours.

The idea is to be a cheesy 70’s adventure documentary a lá Jacques Cousteau.  It is also a nod to Wes Anderson’s “The Like Aquatic with Steve Zissou”/

Here it is:

 

As a sidenote, it didn’t get in the festival.  So that’s a bummer.

3 comments on “The Life Antarctic with Phil Baur

  1. storiesthataretrue says:

    So well done, my gangsteR peep…. I’m posting on my site, too!!

  2. […] My coworker/fellow gangstER Phil put together a great video about wintering in McMurdo… and since I have nothing exciting to report this week, I thought I’d share his work with you. Check out the video at his blog! […]

  3. Awesome. What an experience!

Leave a comment